Mon-late in Bangalore

The skies have opened up in Bangalore and so has my blog. I’ve finally mustered up enough time to get started on what has fascinated me for a long time – blogging and Bangalore.

I’ve been here in this city for a good 9 years almost and have been fascinated by its growth, the people and the weather. I’m going to put in my thoughts about this city, its people and its day to day life – from its sidewalks. Let me start off with what I love most about this city – the weather. Its a topic of endless discussions for Bangaloreans.

This city makes you stick to it, its almost never hot and never too cold. Almost thermo-perfect. Its blessed by rains from both the southwest and north east monsoons, which makes it very green, inspite of the best efforts by BBMP and BDA to strip it of trees.

But this year since the beginning of June, 2008, there’s hardly been any indication of rain. I almost thought that we were in for a bad monsoon. For a large number of residents in newer areas of Bangalore, who are dependant on the borewells, its fairly important to get good rainfall that will hopefully percolate in to recharge the supplies. Almost answering our prayers, the monsoon or rather mon-late has arrived.

It poured for a good part of the evening yesterday, everthing looks fresh today. Our apartment has been uncovered from the layers of dust. All’s looking good.

For some reason, the papers seemed to suggest that rains in June have been historically lesser than September/October. I started researching this on the internet and couldn’t get relevant hits in Google, till I finally searched Google directory. Here’s what I got:

http://www.worldclimate.com/cgi-bin/grid.pl?gr=N12E077

4 comments so far

  1. Padma on

    Hi, good to have you back…looking fwd to many blogs about Bangalore. yeah monsoons are late…but know what they waited for our roads to get done. Look at the timing, isn’t it perfect?

  2. Padma on

    hey let the world know about your cartoons. You can put them up too. what say guys? He is too gud at cartoons.

  3. srinivasanarun on

    Padma, thanks for your comments. I will start with blogging, mix it up with a dash of cartoons and funny photographs etc. Let’s see how it goes.

  4. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on tee inspector. Regards


Leave a comment